Guinness Draught Irish Stew made in BCN

A little more than over a year ago I came across this fabulous Irish Stew recipe on one of my favourite blogs, Brown Eyed Baker (http://www.browneyedbaker.com/). I immediately felt intrigued and tried it on my own and since then basically can’t stop cooking it – especially now that autumn’s finally arrived and winter is just lingering around the next corner.

I must mention that I am not very fond of cooking according to recipes (which makes me a terrible baker since I consider the high art of baking something that is on one side absolutely creative but on the other a procedure of high-level chemistry which, once you added some fire, can’t be reversed, whilst cooking is an ongoing process and you sort of have more possibilities to make it work again) but I love to get my inspiration online and from my father who is a retired chef. So yes, I try baking once in a while, and have the highest admiration for bakers and their creations, but it’s something that I absolutely have to practise before I could even consider calling myself a baker.

So back to this marvellous stew. Brown Eyed Baker’s recipe (http://www.browneyedbaker.com/guinness-beef-stew-recipe/) inspired me various times to take my turn and try my own versions. I am not a big fan of beef so I always make sure to throw in enough vegetables. According to season, (I am very lucky to live just around the corner of one of the world’s most famous and biggest markets – The Boqueria Market), I like to choose fresh veggies and meat and that’s where cooking starts for me already – with the planning and then purchasing the right ingredients. I love choosing my own ingredients and won’t buy food where I can’t do that. Recently I love adding root vegetables (like parsnips and carrots) and different kind of pumpkins that I throw in 30mins later than the rest of the vegetables since they tend to get absorbed completely in the beautiful sauce – which is not bad at all since they add a nice, slightly sweetish taste to the stew.

Veggies

Beautiful Boqueria Veggies & Herbs

Fresh Beef

Fresh & juicy beef for stew with freshly ground black pepper

I try to stick to the recipe, only deviating a little bit from the original. Apart from different vegetables, I tend to use more Guinness Draught since I like a lot of sauce. Unfortunately I don’t have a Dutch oven so I do all the cooking in a usual pot which I keep covered, cooking the stew at low temperature the same amount of time as indicated in the original recipe on the stove. If you need help regarding the measurement conversions, I use the following link, which is quite helpful: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/conversions/

Slow cooking stew

Slow cooking at low heat

After the 3hs cooking time, I just leave the stew on the switched off, cooling down stove so the beef becomes even more tender. Then the only thing that’s left to say is “Enjoy your meal – bon profit!”

Dinner Time

Leave a Reply

