Edge Brewing or the Joining the Craft Beer Revolution in Spain

A few months back in sunny August, me and my media naranja went to the weekly scheduled open-door event of local craft beer brewery Edge Brewing (http://edgebrewing.com/). What I didn’t know was that business partners Alan and Scott not only brew original craft beer but that they also brought all their equipment (tanks, etc.) from the States in order to brew original American Ale in the industrial but nevertheless charming Poblenou district of Barcelona. They even get some of their key ingredients imported from the States!

Come Explore

Not being a big beer drinker myself for several reasons, but most of all because I am the person that most likely orders a smooth red wine, preferably a Rioja, going with a delicious mediterranean dinner, I was not sure what to expect. I’ve tasted some craft beers in the past and generally liked them but I wouldn’t order them specifically. Actually I never liked beer before I moved to Spain, but once here I developed a taste for the light Spanish Estrella or Cruzcampo (most likely mixed into a Clara – or as most English speakers call it, a Shandy) which is just so tasty and refreshing sitting in one of the Chiringuitos at the beach in the middle of a hot Spanish summer.

So when we entered the brewery one Friday afternoon, I was more than surprised to find a vibrant and beautifully equipped brewery space laid out in front of me. Strolling through the big entrance we stumbled upon a local food truck offering their delicacies (different food trucks join the Edge Brewing Free Guided Tours of the Brewery & Tasting Events each Friday so make sure to check their Facebook page for the next events: https://www.facebook.com/EdgeBrewingBarcelona?fref=ts). We immediately went for the tasting offer which includes 4 small pints of craft beer of your choice for 5€. Later on you can also go for the usual sized pints but I definitely recommend tasting as many Edge beers as you can.

Blackboard

Alan and his lovely staff will happily explain tastes and types of beers, and will make you feel like home, being amongst people from all different cultures, finding new friends, meeting old ones and exploring craft beer – because this is what it’s all about: explore something new that is not the typical Spanish light beer that you get in every usual bar around here. Make up your mind and taste craft beer and come to a conclusion meaning: like it or dislike it – but try it! So if you like what you drink and as soon as you determined your favourite craft beer you might also want to purchase a re-usable growler and get it filled up for you to take home.

Beer on tab

As said before, I am not a big beer drinker myself but I tried almost all of Edge Brewing’s Craft Beers and even determined my favourite one which is – against all odds since I used to prefer the light Spanish beers – not ‘Aigua de Canaletes’ (the craft beer most similar to a light Spanish beer being an American blonde ale) but the orange Stiletto instead, which is a hearty, earthy warm, mild but strong Saison beer (7.6%).

Edge Beers

For this year’s Halloween, Edge Brewing is offering ‘Buried Alive’ on tap.  So make sure you pass by on Friday, the 31st of Oct. 2014, in order to enjoy this Halloween Special Edition Pumpkin Spiced Ale – I will be there.

Brewing

Head Brewer Alan Sheppard carefully incorporates the Roasted Pumpkin into the future pumpkin spiced ale ‘Buried Alive’

Leave a Reply

